Watch the Livestream of our 2023 Awards Ceremony Sept 28


Celebrate Cleveland Book Week this year with events highlighting nationally recognized literary talent.

Friday, Sept. 22 – Saturday, Sept. 30

Upcoming Cleveland Book Week Events

View all upcoming events

Discover their stories.

Highlights from the 2022 Awards Ceremony

Watch the full ceremony here.

Our Mission

The only juried American book prize focusing on works that address racism and diversity.

The Anisfield-Wolf Book Awards recognize books that have made important contributions to our understanding of racism and human diversity. For 88 years, the distinguished books earning Anisfield-Wolf prizes have opened and challenged our minds. Cleveland poet and philanthropist Edith Anisfield Wolf established the book awards in 1935, in honor of her father, John Anisfield, and husband, Eugene Wolf, to reflect her family’s passion for social justice.

Proudly presented by the Cleveland Foundation